top of page
Search
jeronna Hansberry

Harriet

Four Stars!!!


This movie was more intriguing than I thought it would be. I was hesitant to see it at first. I really don't take pleasure in being reminded of slavery and all of the hardships, depression, and humiliation it caused. I was actually thinking it would be more violent as well. There were no horrific master whipping slave scenes, and a lot less fighting and physical abuse overall. There were a few scenes that featured some of the exploitation and violence that we know occurred during this time in American history, but the overall plot and the way the story of this amazingly heroic woman was told, were well worth watching. I learned much more about the woman behind the name, like how she got her name and the family she left behind to escape to freedom. I also learned that there were many others doing the same work at the same time

. And you got to see them front and center in the movie. The movie moved at a nice pace and was not too long. It ran for 2 hours 5 minutes. It is a must see for this holiday season!

12 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All

3 Comments


Tom
Nov 18, 2019

And had total faith

Like

Tom
Nov 18, 2019

She was really braves


Like

Martha
Nov 16, 2019

I'm glad there wasn't as much abuse and violence as you expected. I have difficulty dealing with graphic depictions of the abuse, even though I know it was the reality.

Like
bottom of page